Pushkar Lake

The word meaning of Pushkar is Lotus. Lotus (Nelumbo nucifera Gaertner) is a symbol of Indian cultural heritage, deeply associated with Hindu mythology. It is believed the town and this universe came in existence as the lord Brahma through the lotus in search of appropriate place to perform sacred Yagna for beginning of this universe and the parts of flower fell on three places which were later known as Jyaistha, Madhya and Kanistha Pushkar.

Earlier the town used to combine the beauty of a Rose flower gardens and the serenity of pious Pushkar Lake. This spectacular site used to houses thousands of lotus flowers. But due to modernization and scarcity of water the lake has lost its identity as lotus lake, Because of visionary social activist the Lake is getting it’s identify back by growing Pink lotus in it. Although the process of cultivating Lotus is in experimental phase but we do believe that the lake will be crammed with lotus one day.

Lotus is the birth place of Brahma, the creator of universe. According to Hindu mythology, at the time of beginning of Universe a lotus flower sprang from the navel of lord Vishnu, One of trinity Gods and Brahma took birth from the said lotus. Brahma then threw a lotus flower to select suitable spot for the sacrifice (yajna). Lotus struck at particular place and water spurted from there giving it a shape of pious Pushkar Lake; which is even today revered as the supreme place of pilgrimage for Hindus. Beside pilgrims thousand of foreign tourist visits Pushkar to have a Holy dip in the Holy Lake.

The holy lake is an attraction by itself at Pushkar and has immense significance for the followers of Hinduism. According to the legends, the consecrated lake formed with the touch of Brahma’s louts petal, is belied to have miraculous heading and purifying water.

Pushkar Lake Ghats

The Lake is hugged by 52 ghats, teeming with devotes and tourist. Most of the ghats are 300 years old and have innumerable small temple. Various ghats were built by former ruler which include Jaipur ghat, Bhartpur ghat, Gwalior ghat, Jodhpur ghat, Kota ghat, Sikar ghat along with Gau ghat, Varah ghat where pilgrims take holy dip for salvation

Name of Pushkar Lake Ghats

Gau Ghat

- Gau Ghat ( Raj Babra Temple )

- Janana / Queen Mary Ghat

- Chir Ghat

- Nagar Ghat

- Jagannath Ghat

- Ram Ghat

- Mukti Ghat

- Gangaur Ghat

- Asthal Ghat.

Badri Ghat

- Badri Ghat ( Old Rang-ji Temple )

- Bhind Bhadawar / Nagar Palika Ghat

- Vishram / Jhulelal

- Kurmanchal Ghat.

Pachdevri Ghat

- Pachdevri Ghat

- Holkar / Ahilya / Indore Ghat.

Varaha Ghat

- Varaha Ghat ( Varaha Temple )

- Pachdevri Ghat

108 Mahadev Ghat

- Chandra Ghat

- Indra Ghat

- Gwalior Ghat ( Koteshwar Mahadev Temple )

- Bagula Ghat

- Panch Vir

- Jaisalmer / Kishangarh Ghat

- Guru Gobind Singh Ghat

- Man / Jaipur Ghat.

Saptrishi Ghat

- Saptarishi Ghat.

Mandor / Gurjara Ghat

- Bundi Ghat

- Balunda Ghat

- Vir Gurjara Ghat

- Sikar Ghat

Swarup Ghat

- Swarup Vallabh Ghat ( Savitri Temple )

- Kota Ghat.

Hingor Mal Ka Mahal

- Hingor Mal Mahal / Tantuvaya Vaishya Ghat

- Chauri Paidi Ghat.

Kalyan Ghat

- Kalyan Ghat ( Rama Baikunth Temple )

- Raj Bohra Ghat ( Brahma Temple )

- Karni Ghat

- Tarni Ghat

- Parashuram Ghat ( Nimbark )

- Savitri Ghat.

Brahma Ghat

- Brahma Ghat ( Brahma Temple )

- Dadhicha / Hada Ghat

- Sati Ghat.

Yajna Ghat

- Yajna Ghat ( Riddhi Siddhi Temple )

- Shitla Mata Ghat

- Chhik Mata Ghat

- Bharatpur Ghat

- Rehgaran / Gandhi / Shaheed Ghat.

+91 9828178063